Me Too, Flower: A Review.

The 2011 hidden gem: Me Too, Flower (2011)

poster credits to: http://www.itsepisode.com

I contemplated writing a 2011 Dramafest Reflection but since I tend to suck at writing about dramas, that is unlikely to ever surface….

However, I firmly do believe that a hidden gem of a drama definitely deserves its own spotlight- it’s none other than Me Too, Flower. Despite being helmed (writing-wise) by the scriptwriter of My Name is Kim Sam-soon, this late-entry 2011 drama sure did encounter many pre-production madness, lots of casting doubts and middling ratings thoughout its airtime and even worse, was even cut short by 1 episode (MBC, I am looking at you *glares*). Nevertheless, it’s probably also the drama that pulled the biggest shocker: the chemistry was amazing, the introspective dialogue spot-on and as for the characters and acting – well, they’re some of my newly discovered favorites now, pretty much.

Most English-speaking drama-bloggers raved about this drama, calling it perhaps the most underrated show of 2011. I don’t disagree; however, the very usage of the term “underrated” seems to sound like the drama is calling attention to itself to make others watch it – this isn’t true. Me Too, Flower‘s selling points are the sharp, introspective dialogue and its unconventional heroine Cha Bong Sun, as played by Lee Ji-Ah. Of course, when casting is brought up – who could have guessed that Yoon Si-Yoon would totally own the show as baby-faced-but-totally-a-man Seo Jae Hee? I definitely didn’t and in fact, to be honest, the moment I read news about Kim Jae Won‘s departure and Yoon Si-Yoon as the late-replacement lead, I’d scratched this one off immediately. “They totally look like they’ve zero chemistry,” was what I’d judgmentally assumed. Then Koala raved about this show in her Playground – see here – and oh heck, I was sold; I thought I needed to give it a go for myself. Now all I can say is: SO GLAD I jumped on this bandwagon.

While I won’t deny that Me Too, Flower does have some choppy plotlines and much-too-convenient turn-of-events at times, overall what makes it so winning are the character growth and changes that Bong Sun, Jae Hee and Bong Sun’s half-sister, Dal (played by one of my most favorite actress, Seo Hyo Rim), undergo as they learn what exactly is love and thus, similarly, what it is to love – both in receiving and giving it. The characters’ exploration and depth are what give this show its meat; I didn’t care too much about the company, Perche, co-owned by Jae Hee and Hwa Young (played winningly by the stunning Ha Go Eun) and its many business tribulations i.e. the diamond bag, the crazy customer, the secret CEO etc but they helped to develop ties and weave together scenes, so I’m not whining about the filler parts.

There’s another character worth mentioning, he of both quirk and wit: the psychologist Park Tae Hwa played by Jo Min Ki, whom I am unfortunately unfamiliar with. In the beginning I honestly found his character a little bit annoying. Over time and most especially in the last three episodes of the show however, oh I loved him for being the voice of reason. In regards to Dal especially, for keeping her in check and accepting her as she is “because she is transparent … in a time where everyone seemingly wears a mask, it’s as if she’s challenging the norm by stating ‘look at me’, or ‘love me as myself’ “, as he admitted to Jae Hee in the final episode.

Other bloggers feel that Me Too, Flower got off to a slow start – thus, that it’s best to marathon the first six or so episodes rather than pacing a day an episode or whatever, but I strongly disagree. I can still vividly recall the first episode where while there were plenty going on in that pilot episode, collectively the episode and therefore the story, never felt sporadic or scattered to me. Rather, it was presenting all these witty dialogue, sizzling chemistry and some of the most unconventional characters in Kdramas in a realistic fashion. I remember thinking it was an incredibly long first episode and I was exhausted from following the banters between each characters but right off the bat, I knew this is one that would deliver.

I’ve also read plenty from bloggers and commenters alike about how incredibly baby-faced Yoon Si-Yoon is. So much so that therefore, certain moments and scenes fail to deliver with more crushing impact, namely those between him and Hwa Young, the latter of whom seems to be giving off cougar-vibes when compared to said-babyface. But honestly for me, that baby-face whatever? It be damned. Sure he looks 23 (he’s 27 in Real Life, if I remember correctly), but the moment he opens his mouth to speak and additionally, have you noticed the way he acts with his eyes? That intensity – it can’t belong to a boy. Nay nay, ma’am, you’ve got it all twisted if you can’t get over the fact that a youthful face defines nothing when the character is so powerfully acted and demonstrated as Yoon Si Yoon did in his portrayal of Seo Jae Hee. Yoon Si Yoon is totally winning as Seo Jae Hee and never once did it occur to me that he is “too young” in and for the show. Instead – this is an actor to lookout for, I’d say.

I am… not very good at writing reviews so apologies for this not-quite-a-review so-called review. What I hope to convey through this post is really, simply to bring attention to this drama to curious or on-the-fence drama-watchers. If you’re one who often looks for Kdramas that tonally, speak a realistic tone – to whatever degree it can, that is – and/or one who loves a show for their characters’ exploration, then no doubt this one is a show you’ve got to pick up and watch. Like Que Sera Sera, I would peg it as a show that will not and is not everyone’s flavor – yet I also believe that even for the nay-fans, they can’t deny the incredible chemistry between (surprisingly!) Lee Ji-Ah and Yoon Si-Yoon. Most importantly, they definitely can’t deny the depth this story offers in potraying two wounded souls meeting halfway, time and again, as they learn to love in a sometimes unforgiving, mostly superficial world.

In a nutshell – it definitely had its share of choppy editing and some bipolar-like storyline that wrapped up seemingly too nicely.  Nonetheless though, overall: Me Too, Flower remains a most-deserving keeper; I love it so much.

Final verdict: 8/10.

19 thoughts on “Me Too, Flower: A Review.

  1. Love what you wrote.
    I hope you do convince some viewers to give it a shot.
    This is my favorite pairing of 2011 – no contest.
    YSY’s JH and LJ’s BS have climbed into my heart and will never leave.

  2. Hi,

    I love all your thoughts about Me Too, Flower!
    It’s definitely not a perfect series, but I can say now that it has become my favorite Korean drama as of now. I think because it caught me by surprise in many aspects – storyline (although flawed), acting, characterization, etc. The chemistry was SO PALPABLE, I wanted to scream. Yoon Shi Yoon was such a revelation for me and Lee Ji Ah was so convincing as Cha Bong Seon. I learned so much in this series. It’s definitely a gem in my book.

    1. Hello and thank you! :) I totally agree that YSY was such a revelation here – now i can’t keep my eyes off of him and even Lee Ji Ah, whom I used to be so indifferent about – definitely lookin’ out for her next project now. I secretly wish they’re dating in real life hahaha but ah, which fan doesn’t? But anyway. SUPER glad this one’s a keeper and not just in my book!

      @Jomo143 if you’re reading this – thank you too! I really hope so too, honestly.!

      1. @jandoe I’m the same girl who posted above. I was watching the episodes of M2F again for the nth time…haha, did you notice that our Bong-Jae couple didn’t say ‘I love you’ in the series? But I really felt as if these two have shown how much they’ve loved each other…and by the end of the series, I was so convinced that they loved and trusted each other. Oh yeah, there wasn’t any piggyback-ride either! Isn’t that so…un-korean drama-ish? Before, piggyback rides would SEAL Korean dramas. But our couple did that “feet” thing…sweetest little gesture EVER. :))

        1. OMG I KNOW WHAT YOU MEAN. (Oh damn you’ve unleashed my spazz-side! :p) They totally didn’t (and okay won’t lie – I was kinda hoping for it) but that hospital bed scene in the last episode nearly killed me, too sweet that by then I was totally convinced the 3-letter word isn’t necessary. Piggyback doesn’t bother me much cos I personally don’t dig it too much BUT I will say that I can’t believe someone loved that “feet thing” – as you so aptly put it – as much as I do!! I thought I was the only one who thought that was the cutest gesture ever so I’m super surprised but happy to know someone else totally noticed that one too!!

          OMG we should be Kdrama friends hahaha… ;)

          1. OMG you read my mind!

            Unfortunately, none of my friends watched this, so I don’t really have someone to talk about this drama. Watch makes Me Too, Flower! so special (for me, at least) ’cause there’s soooo much that you can discuss about the characterization that’s really brought forth by the dialogue and turn of events (even if it’s sort of convenient, as you said).

            The ‘ILY’ thing, I didn’t even realize it until I got to the last two minutes or so of the series, when Bong Seon was on voice-over. I think the scene that convinced me that it wasn’t necessary…was the kitchen scene discussing Jae Hee’s possibility of studying abroad. When it was Bong Seon who suggested it, I felt so much sincerity from Bong Seon that convinced me that they really love and trust each other because they accepted one another. It takes courage and faith in a partner. And there’s no doubt in my mind that they’ll overcome that obstacle, too.

            The “feet” thing — it irks me cause I can’t find a better name for it!!! It’s not even playing footsies. LOL. But I can NEVER forget that simple, cute gesture! I kinda even forgot the AWESOME kiss when I saw that. How dare I forgot that kiss?

            I can go on and on and on about this series. It’s insane. Thanks for always taking the time to read my comments, kdrama chinggu! :))

  3. Oh my goodness, others that feel the same way as me! Loved, loved, loved this series. Underrated to the max (to the min?). Chemistry was wonderful. I sooo felt the love between this somewhat unconventional pairing. As you said, baby-face be d**d, the man can act, and so can the woman, and when they are together in this drama, you are convinced they are meant to be with each other. When we had the kisses, they were good (that one/two epi 6 kiss is one of THE best I’ve seen out there in kdrama land), but the head-leaning, interwoven-fingers-hand-holding, foot-to-foot-caressing, hair-behind-ear-placing, and the fully reciprocated hugs, as well as the sweet, sweet words exchanged played such an important role in my believing so much in this couple. One of my favorite kdramas of all time, no question.

  4. Hello to all the lovers of the M2F drama. I do agree that Yoon SI Yoon and Lee Ji Ah had the great and strong chemistry with each other. They totally immersed in their respective roles and portrayed perfectly their characters as if it was real like watching a reality show. It’s a heart wrenching and a heart warming story with a combination of a little comedy that made the viewers enjoyed watching and crying at the same time. Ever since the M2F was aired at MBC and watching it live(despite the fact that I can’t understand the k-language), I’ve been inter-acting and post comments at Soompi on the M2F thread. The drama was so addictive to watch and never got me bored on re-watching at dramacrazy. net ( w/ the English subtitles) even for the 3rd time. It is my number one among my favorites of K-dramas that I had watched. Their romantic incidents (the countless hugging, hands and foot caressing, affectionate touch and replies of Jae Hee to BS) were so lovable particularly on that passionate kisses that made me awed upon watching it. Aside from the love story it has a moral lessons that the viewers can get.

    1. hey Judy thanks for dropping in :) Can’t agree more on all the things you’ve said haha, in fact honestly just a week ago I rewatched a few early episodes hahaha. The plot is kinda meh at certain points – honestly if I’m being critical the plot towards the end involving bicycle thieves could’ve been played out WAY differently – but for all The Cute, I will give in and forgive, ha. Glad to have another fan of the show leaving her sentiment!

  5. first of all, I just wanted to say that I’m really happy i stumbled upon your blog!(: I really enjoy your concise and to-the-point reviews, in which you offer your honest, unbiased and qualitative thoughts abt the dramas. It allows me to get a quick big picture of the drama w/o too much detail, so I can decide if I want to watch it or not. so thanks you(: and plz stop saying that you suck at writing abt dramas. your writing style and structure is pleasant and refreshing to read :D i only hope that my writing skills are as good as yours.
    on to the review-I loved this drama! and I totally agree with you abt Yoon Si Yoon’s wonderful portrayal of the role! in fact, I think his baby-face does fit with his character cuz he’s supposed to be a young entrepreneur(:
    the girl annoyed me at first, but i liked more as her character grew. I really liked how they confided in each other and healed their wounded souls tgt in love(: that candle lit dinner was so beautiful(‘:
    ofc kikwang’s a plus, i def enjoyed the scenes of her fantasies with kikwang as a pop star.
    can’t wait to see YSY’s performances in future dramas!

    1. OMG thanks so much for the compliments! I’ve steadily been writing reviews/first impressions/afterthoughts and it’s such a nice boost to know this – I’ll try to keep writing them! :D BTW did you hear? YSY will be in the new Flower Boys installation opposite Park Shin Hye (not my favorite girl) – I can’t wait for him to be back on my screen!

  6. You’re very welcome! That exactly what I intended to do(:
    Omg thanks for informing me this! Hmmm….modern day rapunzel, interesting….

  7. My toughts and feelings… He played a passionate and sensitive man and she looked so happy and in love with him as it was real life. They catched me! A lot of chemistry. Looks, smiles, hugs, kisses, words and sweet gestures!!! Two or three times are not enough and I can’t erase the smile of muy face. YSY & LJA together work wonderfully! Destiny…?

  8. I absolutely loved this drama. Like you said, Yoon Shi Yoon has an amazing intensity when he does serious roles. I am starting to look forward to his other works. Yours review is great :)

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

