Queen of Reversals: A Review.

Queen of Reversals (2010)
picture credits to: http://wiki.d-addicts.com/File:QueenofReversals.jpg

1) Reasons why I picked up Queen of Reversals

1) Park Shi-Hoo – fresh from my TPM withdrawal and having watched Prosecutor Princess already, this was the only other thing I hadn’t watch of his most recent works

2) I really enjoyed the original of this supposed Queen franchise – Queen of Housewives

3) Girlfriday of Dramabeans wrote a really compelling review about it last year that I was taken upon

2) Things I liked:

Kim Nam-joo remained her sassy self, similar to the original. Park Shi-hoo was his usual self too: magnetic and such a hoot. I know he was supposed to be the second lead but was essentially promoted to first after ratings increased (or so I read) and I can honestly see why – for instance frankly, his character Goo Yong Shik was not only more charismatic as compared to Jung Jun-ho‘s Bong Jun Soo, but seriously, dude stole the latter’s thunder so obviously from the very start. From the very beginning of me watching this, had I not known about him supposedly being the second lead, I would not have even guessed.

Plot-wise for a workplace-themed drama (haven’t watched one in awhile, I think) it was pretty decent. Honestly I fast-forwarded quite a bit but really loved the rapport between the members of the Special Plannings Team. While there were the typical workplace dramas – mean co-worker, Presidential position drama, you get me – the overall tone was not that bad. I liked the fact that characters who were there for one another remained consistent – person A didn’t just turn around person B, for instance. Pacing-wise, the 31-episode long show really felt to me, like a lifetime honestly. It dragged a little but essentially the plot was really moving in a logical fashion – some shows turn bipolar and suffer from identity crisis halfway, so if this show did too it never showed (always good) – and as always, I appreciated so much character growth, which I witnessed lots in this show.

Thematically, perhaps my favorite is simply this one, which the writer successfully struck home about: things happen, life goes on. One failure, or one misery in a person’s life does not warrant one to wallow in self-pity and the like, thinking one is the only person suffering in this planet. That’s exaggeration, mind you. I especially liked the fact that she – Hwang Tae Hee, I mean – remained sassy towards the end. Yong Shik got on my nerves a little honestly about keep wanting to protect her – he means well, I understand but dude, by like the third time? Get a clue. She’s doing just fine without both you and the ex-husband, thank you very much. If you so want to be with her, you ought to really make her an equal, rather than “no, you just sit here. I’ll handle it for you!” repeatedly.

3) Things I disliked: 

Aforementioned, paragraph above – dude really needed to realize that. Also, the fact that the supposed hero was such a weak person – or character, if you will. I’m sorry Jun Soo, but despite how kind you were painted to be, to me you were never quite man enough to fight for the things you wanted and most especially, to fight for the lady you supposedly love with all your life. This all sounded too familiar personally, maybe that is why, but alas – I didn’t enjoy his character, right from the start unfortunately.

I don’t hate Baek Yeo-jin i.e. the ex-girlfriend, once-twice-manipulator and second lead, but OMG her acting – I can’t even. It was that bad, and this coming from someone who doesn’t even do acting. It’s like she thinks she is acting and if that really is how acting is in Real Life… OMG I’ve nothing else to say.

The last 7 or so episodes could REALLY have just been centered on them – Tae Hee and Yong Shik – happening rather than this constant pull-and-push. Frankly by the third or whatever nth time of Goodbye-We-Can’t-Be-Together turnabout, I was just about ready to hurl at my laptop screen. All those hours could’ve been used in exploring the relationship – what if they really defied the odds, how would this have played out then?  – was what I had in mind, so I admit I am disappointed that the writer didn’t venture so. It was only in what, the last 10 minutes of the show that they, for the love of everything holy, FINALLY got together. I should really have skipped past all that unnecessary tug-of-war earlier.

4) Conclusion:

I somewhat regret watching this, if only because it’s so… empty. Granted, I fast forwarded many scenes – although this slowed in the middle as I was somewhat invested for awhile, before losing steam again – but that’s the thing: the show is frankly, forgettable. It wasn’t as bad as say, Lie To Me (barometer of Worse with capital W, I swear) and I would guess that it was indeed heartwarming to a number of people who loved the show, but to me the emotions it rattled within me barely even scratched the surface.

I’ll just put it this way: Show is decent, but very forgettable. If you’re looking for a light, breezy watch – one that in fact, felt more like a weekend drama like those along Three Brothers etc, was what I thought as I watched this – then this is not a bad choice. However, if you’re looking for some substance, you’re probably better off looking elsewhere.

Final verdict: 4/10.  

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

