15 Days of Solitude Begins Now.

I’m back from Sin City and I’m now officially into the second week of my break!

First and foremost, thank you for the kind words and support. I’m sorry I was such an emotional wreck – the thought of last weekend has me shaking my head in embarrassment and shame – and if you missed the quick announcement in the last Sputnik post, I… passed. Made it through to the next term, though honestly – just barely. But pass the borderline I did and at the moment, that’s all that matters. Everything else… I’ll pick them back up in January.

Now I’m kicking off exactly what you read above: 15 days of solitude. By that I mean, there’s exactly two weeks left before the new school term and I… am honestly scratching my head in confusion on why I didn’t choose to fly back home (as usual) for the long break. It’s now too late to do anything about that though so here I am, back in my studio with 15 (now 14 as I type this) days of solitude with just me, myself and I.

Here’s the thing you need to remember, or know about me: I thrive in being alone. It’s crazy, scary and sometimes unhealthy, I’m aware but at the same time – I can’t help it. Most times I wish I have people whom I can talk to, but the world is always so noisy that the quiet solitude of my own company is what I love and look forward to the most.

Here’s how it will work: there will be drama-watching days (rejoice because I’ve jumped into the boat again and I’m paddling forward, finally!), reading days (I’m trying to get through my Haruki Murakami list, as much as his writing both puzzles and leaves me in awe) and there’ll also be solo daily excursions to nearby towns as I attempt to get to know my surrounding better. I’m genuinely very excited because if it’s one thing I can promise in the lazy motion of all of the above, it is this: writing days, or rather moments.

I suspect they’ll be random, touching on brief thoughts and quotes; afterthoughts and internal musings; reality check reflections and drama-watching. As the year comes to a close, my mind tends to be on overdrive, looking back and whatnot.  In the past three months, there were many things I wanted to write about and didn’t, so now I hope to unleash them from my memory box. I can’t promise much on what the topics will be about because truthfully I don’t know either – an array of things, I suspect and whatever they are, I’m excited.

It’s like an exercise in patience, or as I like to call it: feeding the writer blues.

Here’s my D-15 musing, courtesy of John Mayer as he sings my heart out, always, in The Age of Worry:

“Don’t be scared to walk alone
Don’t be scared to like it
There’s no time that you must be home
So sleep where darkness falls

Alive in the age of worry
Smile in the age of worry
Go wild in the age of worry
And say, “Worry, why should I care?”

Know your fight is not with them
Yours is with your time here
Dream your dreams but don’t pretend
Make friends with what you are

Give your heart then change your mind
You’re allowed to do it
‘Cause God knows it’s been done to you
And somehow you got through it.”

6 thoughts on “15 Days of Solitude Begins Now.

  1. I’m catching up on all the posts i’ve missed in the last few days, phew. Yay for passing! I know how troubled you were, but you got through it in one piece, and I think that’s awesome :-). Plus, I can’t think of anything better than 15 days of solitude! Consider me jealous, seriously. Are you going to watch Nine and Heartless City? They’re my favourite dramas of the year, they’re fantastic.

    1. Thank youuuu :) I’m so relieved I made it through too, and now whenever I try to look back at the past three months it is like a blur (pretty much shows how crazy the adjustment phase was). I will watch them! Great thing you reminded though :D I just need to finish a Jdrama I’m watching, write about another show andddd finish Empire of Gold for reals then I plan to start on Nine :D

  2. Glad to see you back! And congrats on passing. I thought about you a lot last week and hoped you were doing ok. :) :)
    I’ve just finished the bulk of my ‘Christmas’ season a few days early. Had family and friends over, invading my every free moment, and that made me so grumpy – I feel bad, but, I just yearned to be alone again. To get back to my bum lifestyle. It’s not even just like being a bum, I just.. like my space. And even when I get a little bored, I miss it as soon as I don’t have it.

    Anyways, welcome back to the drama world.. Your sidebar list is intimating! I’ve.. slowed on the drama watching. Though that’ll probably change soon. I’m suddenly interested in a ton of the currently airing dramas… This won’t go well for me hehe.

    1. Aw thank you thank you :’)

      Merry Christmas to you, btw! I know thee grumpiness you feel, but hope you successfully pushed those feelings aside and enjoyed the company (and food! There must be plenty of good food!). Appreciate the get-together as much as you can, because those solitary moments are more frequent than the gatherings and company I think :)

      I’m only following PM&I but I might give Miss Korea and/or Man from Another Star a peep. I feel like I can only follow one currently-airing show though, haha which is the problem here. I’ve so many older ones backlogged AND I want to spend time watching some Kvariety too! Plus don’t even get me started on Jdramas – totally in the mood for them, and the fall 2014 ones look potentially interesting. “Tough” decision hahaha.

      Keep me posted if you end up picking a currently airing one, but as of now – Merry Jolly Xmas!! :D

      1. So much food! You’ve no idea! Unfortunately, it’s about 95% sugary, and 5% savory, and 0% mealtime, edible, and ready. I did enjoy the company mostly. I’ll see more family after Christmas, but in the meantime I’m enjoying that at least for the next few days we’ve got no plans. :)

        Dramas… I’ve started You From Another Planet (or whatever title it’s going by these days). Not sure if it’s gonna be the greatest thing ever, but it’s entertaining enough. Honestly, it’s a little weird – I picked it out because I love the actresses in it, not the actors. I like to think I’m growling less shallow with age. Hehe

        1. Enjoy the no-plan days :) Considering I don’t celebrate Xmas the week doesn’t affect me so I’m actually totally fine with not doing anything haha until 26th when my friend (finally) arrives in SF. Until then I’m just cooped in the studio with dramas :p

          “I like to think I’m growing less shallow with age.” HAHA. OMG don’t feel guilty over picking the guys over girls to watch something! I ahem, do that all of the time haha – although funnily will end up liking the heroines/actresses over the guys, ha go figure. Ahhh that sounds… potentially troubling though haha, it being kinda weird but entertaining. I’ll be honest – the show feels a bit like Heirs again in the overhyped dept, like everyone’s talking about it? I can’t stand that haha but we’ll see. The Kim Soo Hyun factor is SO HARD to dismiss (!!)

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

