A 2013 Year-end Dramafest Reflection: Quality Over Quantity.

It’s finally here! On the last day of winter break too! Not bad in terms of timing haha, especially given that I tried my best to cram as many shows I could watch in the past two weeks. Admittedly I really only managed to watch 3.5 shows in total, but I’m really happy with my choices.

2013 has been a weird year quite frankly, both real life-wise and drama watching-wise. I suffered multiple small slumps beginning from spring which eventually morphed into a prolonged slump at the end of summer to late fall. As a result, I didn’t tune in to as many dramas as I typically do and frankly I think I dropped more dramas than I ever have but there’s simply not enough time for bad dramas and I’m learning this the hard way these days. Come to think of it, I think I watched more oldies than current ones.

If I were to look back at 2013 as a whole, I agree with everyone who thought 2013 gave us lots of dramas to pick and choose from, but very few stuck and resonated in the long-term. More fickle and cynical than ever now, I’ve become pickier with my selections, trying to choose substance and depth over pretty faces alone. I don’t always succeed but fortunately, a handful of dramas gave me both, and more.

I included two Jdramas here and honestly, I tend to have a harder time remembering Kdramas as opposed to Jdramas – still the case here, I don’t know why. I also included shows which aired last year and appeared in 2012’s Dramafest Reflection, but since they only ended their run in 2013 I figured it’s perfectly okay to appear here too.

Two quick notes:

  1. I’m aware my timeline’s a bit off but I basically try to categorize shows based on their premiere dates, not end dates unless specified
  2. Some shows listed I’d checked out, but eventually dropped – they’re just mentioned in passing from what I can recall since this is a reflection

Let’s the fun begins – on to the reflections now!

2014 Dramafest Reflections

+++

WINTER 2013

The King of Dramas (2012)
The King of Dramas (2012)

King of Dramas

Reflection Barometer: Fondness

“What would Anthony do?” is perhaps the most frequent question brought up across drama land since this show came to light and I might add, appropriately so. King of Dramas was an enjoyable watch – quirky, somewhat zany and very witty. The drama in a drama behind the scenes were fascinating and dealt with satirically. Even if they sometimes veered into over-the-top territories and the sorta-kinda romance was pushed to the backseat until later on in the show, the show maintained its quick wit and dry humor fantastically from start to end.

No doubt however, that the King of Dramas is exactly what it is thanks to its pitch-perfect casting. Kim Myung Min, as expected of the man, was absolutely phenomenal as Anthony Kim and Jung Rye Won‘s Lee Go Eun remains one of my favorite heroines in Kdramaland – sassy, independent, wacky-but-endearing and best of all, she ain’t no pushover. Completing the ensemble were Choi Si Won and Oh Ji Eun and both actors were phenomenal in this show! Their comedic timing was impeccable and Si Won especially put up a memorable performance; he was so over-the-top, but hilarious. Thanks to these two, the hilarity and comedic touches alone were worth tuning in for, overall resulting in a show that knows exactly when to pack punches but equally game to take one, or more, for itself.

Note: This is a 2012 show, but inserted here as it ended its run on January 7, 2013.

___

Can We Get Married? (2012)
Can We Get Married? (2012)

Can We Get Married?

Reflection Barometer: Fondness

Can We Get Married? was my 2012 year-end crack but when it meandered in the middle, my annoyance escalated and I ended up having to take my time to finish the show. I wrote plenty about the show which you can find in this space, so in the heat of it then and when I finally wrote my overall review, it felt like it was a long time coming.

Just as I expressed in the review, in hindsight this show is really pretty solid – spot-on casting, witty and meaningful dialogue and realistic, endearing characters. Lee Mi Sook was a hoot here and the younger casts held their own too.

I thought the show did total justice to the romantic comedy genre and although you may not like all couples – I did, but my favorite one was unfortunately pushed to the sidelines for a large portion of the show’s run – there’s plenty to gain from the different relationship dynamics, conflicts and circumstances. A realistic depiction of everyday people who loved, lost and changed each other. Worth watching!

Note: This is a 2012 show, but inserted here as it ended its run on (1st!) January 2013.

___

School 2013 (2012)
School 2013 (2012)

School 2013

Reflection Barometer: Warm Fuzzies

When I decided to watch School 2013, it was purely a random pick but fortunately, one of the best drama-watching decisions I ever made. School 2013 is not without flaws, but it did many more things right than wrong – it took me back to a time that was hued with innocence but fueled by teenage angst and identity crises, and introduced to me characters who came to life in their own ways as they easily entered my heart and stayed long after the credits rolled and the curtains closed.

What I love most about School 2013 isn’t the epic bromance of all time to rival other bromances – close, but not the primary factor – rather the show’s deft reins in the storytelling. The writer and director understood and trusted the storytelling and characters with respect and as a result allowed these two elements to develop organically before our eyes. Never once did the writer and director gloss over, belittle or judge the conflicts that these teenagers dealt with, even if in hindsight those issues were trivial and exaggerated to nth proportions. They took an objective view, stepping back so the stories could come to light by themselves through emotionally-charged, lost and misguided teenagers trying to find their respective way in a world they believed cared little for them. 

I also thought the ending was well-done, because the open-endedness was appropriate and true-to-characters. I appreciated the character growths experienced by not just the students, but also some of our teachers; Daniel Choi‘s Kang Se Chan is still a personal favorite – he’s annoying, but awesomely annoying. The writing isn’t perfect and sometimes the show did come off as rather patronizing, plus the show’s not a stunner either as it went for a more dated look but overall, these things mattered little. School 2013 was all about the characters and yes, the bromance that stood the test of time and lived on beyond the screens.

I wrote a review upon completion of my watch, found here.

Note: This is a 2012 show, but inserted here as it ended its run on January 29, 2013.

___

Cheongdam-dong Alice (2012)
Cheongdam-dong Alice (2012)

Cheongdam-dong Alice 

Reflection Barometer: Vague

I thought this show had potential and started off surprisingly well, hitting all the right notes emotionally and mentally. I wrote a positive first impression because I was pleasantly surprised and giddy in love with the show then. Unfortunately, the show meandered in the middle and plot-wise really lagged that I eventually lost interest. I tried coming back to the show a few times since then but then the Park Shi Hoo fiasco happened and I couldn’t make myself return to it.

I love both Moon Geun Young and Park Shi Hoo separately and honestly they seriously sizzled onscreen like nobody’s business, plus I thought the show took a very interesting and witty approach to the original Alice in Wonderland but alas, the pros were perhaps better in parts than as a whole. 

I can’t say if the show redeemed itself in the last six or so episodes – I think I dropped it at episode 10, but I can’t remember anymore. Hopefully one day I’ll be able to return to the show to complete it so I can judge for myself.

Note: This is a 2012 show, but inserted here as it ended its run on January 27, 2013.

___

Level 7 Civil Servant (2013)
Level 7 Civil Servant (2013)

Level 7 Civil Servant

Reflection Barometer: (VERY) Vague

I gave the show four (or two?) episodes to try to lure me in and wanted so badly to give it the benefit of doubt – I tried; I even wrote a first impression! – because Joo Won seemed genuinely excited to work with Choi Kang Hee, but oh boy the show was a train wreck. The chemistry was nonexistent – or awkward, more than anything else -, the spy elements were embarrassingly simplistic and the side characters were flat and poorly written. While I never went back to the show I did follow the recaps and thoughts write-ups across the web. Suffice to say, I’m glad I left way early.

If you’re a Joo Won fan, do yourselves a favor – skip this. I’m pretty sure even Baker Kim Tak-gu was better than this show.

___

Flower Boy Next Door (2013)
Flower Boy Next Door (2013)

Flower Boy Next Door

Reflection Barometer: Vague

I made it through to the first four episodes and loved the introspective tone. I wrote a positive first impression, found here. I am a big fan of Yoon Shi Yoon and he was absolutely adorable as Energizer Bunny Enrique Geum. I’m generally impartial towards Park Shin Hye – okay honestly, I’m not a fan – but I thought they had pretty good chemistry. For me, the best parts about the show were the introspective musing, coupled with the wintry feel and background. Together, they provided a show that’s rife with food for thought.

So… I don’t know why it was so hard for me to pick up the show and continue. Alas, I never did – I’m still stuck at episode 5 until now, a year later. I’ve read a number of quick thoughts around the drama blogosphere about the show and writers are mostly in consensus that the show dwindled in the second half – not enough to lose its flair, but enough to be tonally irredeemable. I can’t vouch on that myself since like I said, I’m stuck at episode 5 but if you’re curious about the show, my take is to give it a go and judge for yourself.

___

Ad Genius Lee Tae Baek (2013)
Ad Genius Lee Tae Baek (2013)

Ad Genius Lee Tae Baek 

Reflection Barometer: Vague 

I can’t recall what propelled me to check out this show. I’ve always been a sucker for underdogs and when I read that the ratings for this show were pathetically low, I think I attempted to positively contribute by tuning in and even wrote a first impression.

I’ve never seen Jin Goo before this show and I admit I’m impartial towards everyone else from Park Ha Sun to Jo Hyun Jae. I thought the first few episodes were okay, but not attention-grabbing. I stayed on with the show through its entire run surprisingly and debated writing an overall review (I didn’t).

Ad Genius Lee Tae Baek was… alright. But that’s exactly it – it was mediocre, frankly. The storyline was really boring and rooting for the underdogs ended up being a chore and a blow to the spirit. What makes a meaningful underdog story is a central character one can root for and the resilience and determination to bounce back – through baby steps, success will eventually bear fruit. Unfortunately, Ad Genius Lee Tae Baek seemed absolutely determined to make sure to continue throwing its hero to the curb, then pushed to the sidelines, have him risk everything only to lose again and again and when long-term success was actually (finally!) within sight, the show then made the hero impulsive and silly because he’d always frustratingly opt for short-term, fruitless decisions.

Ad Genius Lee Tae Baek wasn’t horrible entirely but in all honesty it lacked punch, meat and sticky factor. In short, it was forgettable. The day I wrapped up the show – I forgot all about it immediately.

___

That Winter, The Wind Blows (2013)
That Winter, The Wind Blows (2013)

That Winter, The Wind Blows

Reflection Barometer: Vague

When it comes to this show, my reaction is… a mixed bag. I don’t hate it, but I don’t look back at it fondly either. Now that a significant time has passed since wrapping up the show, I’m no longer enraged at the cop-out ending (or so I believe) but I honestly feel a tinge of regret for spending sixteen long and incredibly slow hours on the show. I came in with such high hopes from the writer – Noh Hee Kyung, surely it won’t go wrong right? – to the director – he who gave me the beautifully watchable Padam Padam: The Sound of His & Her Heartbeats – and of course, the A+ cast from Song Hye Gyo to Jo In Sung to Kim Bum and even up-and-coming Jung Eun Ji.

Only… the show gave me lots of beautiful trench coats and winter coats; lots of long, pregnant pauses; beautiful close-up shots of Song Hye Gyo and even more (and slower) widescreen shots. In other words, generally very little happens throughout the show’s run because the show was mostly too busy trying to capture and entrance us with each scene – or something, but that’s what it felt like to me.

Unsurprisingly, the show was an absolute feast for the eyes but I can’t say the same when it comes to the overall story line. While I did like the characters and I could get behind their motivations, the show was… slow. I don’t know how else to put it and most frustrating of all, I didn’t feel rewarded for my patience because the ending was… ugh, I’m still of two minds when it comes to that.

I thought Song Hye Gyo was absolutely stunning and memorable in her portrayal of a blind person and a woman in love though, delicate and bold at the same time, but That Winter, The Wind Blows was undoubtedly Jo In Sung‘s vehicle. A pseudo-review – with spoilers though, mind you – can be found here, if you’re interested.

In short, I don’t hate the show, I really don’t – but I can’t say I love it either, unfortunately.

___

Hundred Years Inheritance (2013)
Hundred Years Inheritance (2013)

Hundred Years Inheritance

Reflection Barometer: Vague

I’m pretty sure everyone watched this show for Lee Jung Jin. Okay I did, but if not, for the supposed story line about a long-running noodle house which was such farce; the show was about everything else but the damn noodles, I tell ya. I tuned in for Lee Jung Jin indeed and then stayed on for the cute, cozy chemistry between Eugene and him but as is typical when it comes to long weekend dramas, the familial theatrics took center stage. Eventually, the crazies flew left-and-right from birth secrets, crazy mother-in-laws and oh yeah, lots of screaming.

I admit the show was such a guilty pleasure – so insane, but so addicting! I fast-forwarded while watching so I didn’t waste too much time on it thankfully, but once real life took top priority and the last ten episodes were backlogged, I easily lost interest. I’m still quite curious about what happened at the very end of the show but word has it that the crazies persisted until the damn ending, so I’m not sure if I should actually tune in and confirm that, ha.

___

Saikou no Rikon (2013)
Saikou no Rikon (2013)

Saikou no Rikon 

Reflection Barometer: Fondness 

Recently watched it honestly (as of this write-up), but since it aired in winter of 2013 I’m inserting it here anyway.

Saikou no Rikon was penned by the screenwriter who gave us the much-acclaimed Soredemo, Ikite Yuku but interestingly and refreshingly, the two shows are as different as night and day. Fortunately, just as the writer’s earlier drama, Saikou no Rikon reunited him with his leading man and ever-versatile Eita who masterfully tugged at our heartstrings as the socially awkward, obsessive compulsive and extremely talkative Hamasaki Mitsuo. Complementing his quirky character, we’re introduced to ex-wife Hamasaki Yuka acted by Ono Machiko and completing the quartet we have the coupling of Ayano Go (such a hottie!) and Yoko Maki (love her!).

It is no surprise then that the show fired all cylinders with the pitch-perfect cast, the intelligent and realistic writing and confident directing. The show is tonally quirky and wacky at times – it takes some getting used to if you’re not used to Jdramas – but it is absolutely worth-watching. There are lots of food for thought to gain wisdom from and the slice-of-life approach gave us such intimate views into the lives of four humanly flawed and realistically portrayed individuals. Solid show!

My review can be found here, if you’re interested.

___

SPRING 2013

Jang Ok-jung, Live in Love (2013)
Jang Ok-jung, Live in Love (2013)

Jang Ok-jung, Live In Love

Reflection Barometer: Fondness

Jang Ok-jung, Live In Love was my spring crack drama. I’ve written way too many entries about it by now from its hits to its misses and for some unknown reason, the overall review is still my most popular entry (I really have no idea why). The show was gorgeous – hence it inspired my Pimp That Scene section – and the romance was stirring. Kim Tae-hee did a great job portraying a woman who loves a man enough to do anything for him and Yoo Ah In redeemed himself from the catastrophe that was last year’s Fashion King as he portrayed a multi-dimensional, layered and intelligent king who was more puppet master than mere puppet.

The show admittedly faltered in the middle, but thankfully picked itself up in the last four episodes. I’ve said this in my review and I’ll say it again: the first six or so episodes post-childhood were my favorites from the show.

Although some actors were wasted – ahem, Jae Hee – and others were underutilized – Hong Soo Hyun, anyone? – ultimately Jang Ok-jung, Live In Love lived up to its title of a woman who loved and gave in to that love wholeheartedly, death do them part. The romance was sweeping, swoon worthy and memorable.

___

Nine (2013)
Nine (2013)

Nine: Nine Times Travel

Reflection Barometer: Fondness

Watched this just a few days prior to this write-up because I wanted to make sure to include it in here. The show is solid throughout and is truly deserving of all the accolades it has received, no doubt about that, but I admit that it never emotionally grounded and captured me. I appreciated the story telling and visual feasts because the writing and directing were assured and confident. In fact, I admit those two aspects of the show took my breath away. The story line and twists were well-defined, well thought-out and excellently executed. The result was a mindfuck frenzy of a show that challenged not just the characters and especially hero, but also its audiences.

The show isn’t a personal favorite of mine, but that hardly matters. On its own, Nine: Nine Times Travel is totally worth the hype, worth the watch and once you’re done and reeling in the aftermath still trying to connect the dots together – worth discussing.

___

Heartless City (2013)
Heartless City (2013)

Heartless City 

Reflection Barometer: Right Through The Heart

This is the last drama I watched prior to writing this write-up, so it is freshest on my mind. Even if that’s not the case though, I suspect the show will worm itself into my heart and mind and stay for a long while anyway – it is that good, and more.

Prepare to be lured in as Heartless City is gritty, dark and edgy; it did the noir genre justice. It’s also action-packed and those scenes were presented so stylistically that they’re awesome. Similar to Nine: Nine Times Travel, the writing and directional touches blew my mind and took my breath away but this show edged out the former because it captured, entranced and owned me completely both emotionally and mentally from the first episode.

The astuteness of the storytelling will have you at the edge of your seat, questioning the motives of every single character and rooting for our anti-hero Doctor’s Son or Jung Shi Yun as he paves his way in the cruel, heartless city of the underworld. In other blogs, I realized that plenty were written and discussed about the thematic element or concept of light versus darkness, which I thought was fascinating because I didn’t think as deeply on that when I watched the show; now I’m honestly intrigued to re-watch the show (when I can) to pick up on that. Oh, Jung Kyung Ho as the doc? Award-winning role. He was phenomenal and acted with such restrain and finesse.

My pick for drama of the year, bar none.

___

Shark (2013)
Shark (2013)

Shark

Reflection Barometer: Vague

So I watched the first half of the show on-and-off when I was home over summer and had access to KBS World. I thought the two actors had great chemistry and that the show was mysterious and intriguing, but the pacing was rather slow for my taste. Plus since I watched it on-and-off, I can’t vouch if the story line was cohesive and if the characters were well-fleshed out – words from other bloggers seem to say no to both aspects – but if nothing else, I thought they did a good job with the build-up of the mystery and the baddies.

Oh, I did read the ending though and well… Let’s just say I’m relieved I checked out.

___

Mischievous Kiss ~ Love in Tokyo (2013)
Mischievous Kiss ~ Love in Tokyo (2013)

Mischievous Kiss ~ Love in Tokyo

Reflection Barometer: Warm Fuzzies (almost pierced Right Through The Heart)

Ah my Kotoko and Naoki! My adorable twosome!

To tell you the truth, I’d sworn off this show because I watched the other two Korean and Taiwanese versions and hated them with a passion. I just couldn’t get behind the premise, the hero and especially, the heroine. But then Dramafever picked this up as its first live-watch, subbed Jdrama and my drama-blogger friends started writing about the show. For five weeks I stuck to my stance until one fine day I figured, fine I’ll try it out… Let’s see how much worse this is compared to its predecessors. Snerk.

Except… it turned out to be such an enjoyable watch. Kotoko, unlike the other heroines, was endearing and sincere. Naoki, for all his Naoki-bot ways, was a charming character and an even more fascinating one to focus upon as he experienced changes and development in the path to becoming a real, well-fleshed out young man. Above all, I thought that Mischievous Kiss ~ Love in Tokyo worked and wormed its way into my heart exactly because of that – it had heart and lots of it.

I’ve written way too many entries about the show, even pseudo-recapping the last six or so episodes and finished it off with an overall review. If you haven’t watched the show or you’re looking for a light, breezy rom-com watch – pick this!

___

SUMMER 2013

I Hear Your Voice (2013)
I Hear Your Voice (2013)

I Hear Your Voice 

Reflection Barometer: Fondness

So I watched this over summer when it was halfway through its run – I was ready to write it off, but I caught the tail-end of episode three or four and was instantly taken by the suspense. Cue backtracking for the earlier episodes and turned out, the show was a pleasant surprise and treat to watch, despite a handful of obvious flaws.

The winning combination of Lee Bo Young and Lee Jong Suk was adorable – the chemistry was surprisingly there and their banter was just too cute for words. As individuals of their own, their characters too were awesome – all sass, bravery and heart.

Overall I thought the writing was solid – not air-tight solid, but good enough – and the directional touches did the show justice. I loved the use of bright colors and the clever inclusion of summer; I remember the show mostly as cheery and bright when it wasn’t focused upon its serial killer arc who by the way, seriously gave me chills. I don’t love the show as much as other people seem to and honestly I look at it with minimal fondness, but I acknowledge and recognize the strengths of the show. It was an enjoyable ride while it lasted.

___

Empire of Gold (2013)
Empire of Gold (2013)

Empire of Gold

Reflection Barometer: Warm Fuzzies

This one was one hell of a ride, but well-worth it. I jumped into it completely randomly over summer – I was basically a couch potato for two months, ha – and was drawn to the story and characters; everything about the show was like a chess game and the characters represented the chess pieces, all calculated moves and endless strategies. The background of the show, spanning 20 years with a focus on the rise and fall of the South Korean then-economical landscape provided such rich and meaty premise. Coupled that with a microscopic focus on a particular chaebol family who dined at the dinner table seemingly warmly, but in truth clutched more deceit and ugly motives towards each other. The culprit behind every forged and broken alliances, every short-term victory? Ultimately money, lots of it.

I thought the cast was stellar, from Go Soo to Lee Yo Won – my favorite character in the show was hers – and of course, Sohn Hyun Joo. Although their characters moved like chess pieces in a game with no real winners, all the actors were fantastic in this show as they realistically demonstrated to us human flaws – greed, jealousy, hatred and more – in the path to the empire of gold.

I recently managed to finally watch the show to completion and didn’t really dig the ending where Go Soo‘s character is concerned, but it’s a minor quibble. The twists and turns his character took and was eventually morphed and transformed by were the real meaty stuff – those were well-played out. Similarly for Lee Yo Won‘s character, her ending was… bittersweet, but inevitable.

Worth watching? Hell yes, but keep your mind switched on!

___

Good Doctor (2013)
Good Doctor (2013)

Good Doctor 

Reflection Barometer: Vague

Similar to Shark, I caught Good Doctor by accident and tuned in when I could. I think I managed to properly watch perhaps the first four episodes but the show never succeeded to lure me in. I love lots of the actors such as Moon Chae Won and Kim Young Kwang, but even they could not hold my attention. I thought Joo Won did a decent job and was endearing as usual, but the show lacked a punch factor and hospital premises have never perked my interest so I didn’t return.

___

Blade & Petal (2013)
Blade & Petal (2013)

Blade & Petal (or Sword & Flower)

Reflection Barometer: (VERY) Vague

I tried. I really, really tried to watch this show. It was so pretty to look at! Kim Ok-bin was also so pretty onscreen, with her pretty outfits! Uhm Tae Woong was his typical, broody character self and the Romeo & Juliet narrative was interesting. Everything sounded so promising but unfortunately, the execution left much to be desired and I just couldn’t continue watching. It was… slow.

Like with Shark, I followed the recaps at Dramabeans and read about the ending… Ha, somehow I’m not surprised.

___

FALL 2013

Prime Minister & I (2013)
Prime Minister & I (2013)

Prime Minister & I 

Reflection Barometer: Fondness

I have serious time-issues these days and unfortunately, once winter terms kick-starts tomorrow I don’t know if I can actually even keep up with this live-watch. I hope so though, because thus far this show is hitting all the right buttons! As of this write-up, the show is up to episode 7 and through this show, Lee Bum Soo has thankfully finally picked a project that’s not a dud. Yoona is surprisingly wonderful here, endearing and all-heart but even more surprising is the fact that these two have wonderful chemistry. They are absolutely delightful to watch.

Trust this show will make it to 2014’s Dramafest Reflection, so let’s hope it remains solid throughout!

+++

Ah finally, mission accomplished!

There you go folks, that was my drama-watching year; not as plentiful as years before, I think but I like to believe it’s now all about quality and not quantity. I’d hope to include more Jdramas because I know I’ll eventually get to Woman and Tonbi 2013 but unfortunately couldn’t slot them in during my free & easy winter break. Those aside, as always this was fun to write and reflect upon.

Personally I don’t think 2013 was a super great year, but the two or three that I thought were good – they were really, really good. I’m ending on a positive note by sincerely wishing that 2014 will be chock-full of both meaty substances and swoon-worthy fluff to pick and choose from! Cheers to the previous year’s crop and here’s to another new, hopefully better, year ahead!

Disclaimer: All photos are credited to wiki.d-addicts.com.


6 thoughts on “A 2013 Year-end Dramafest Reflection: Quality Over Quantity.

  1. Myyyy you’ve watched a whole load of dramas!!! of the ones listed here, I only watched two: KING OF DRAMAS and THAT WINTER THE WIND BLOWS. I loved both. in the former, I adored Siwon’s character the most, he was hilarious! in the latter, I watched for the pretty and Jo In-sung and surprisingly, I was riveted on the drama though not emotionally invested coz it felt cold. I guess that was what writer Noh was aiming for? lol

    1. As I was writing this (over 7 hours omg…) I realized I watched a lot… if I count the 2012/2013 ones so technically that was me cheating by 4 shows? :p Oh oh, plus I listed a bunch I checked out, but eventually dropped so my actual completed-watch is a lot lower than usual, I think. (I think)

      Siwon was awesomeeee in that show, so so funny. And yes I agree about TWTWB! It felt cold – soooo pretty, but cold and in my case, excruciatingly slow. It took me forever to finally finish it o.o

  2. Cheongdamdong Alice- “I thought this show had potential and started off surprisingly well, hitting all the right notes emotionally and mentally.” Me too. I absolutely loved it for the first half. Loved it. I remember raving about it on FB, lol. But yeah, it did kinda lose its way a bit, but I swear that’s always the case with the ones that grab you early on. They have nowhere to go but down, I guess. And down they go.

    That Winter The Wind Blows- I don’t know why but whenever I think of this show, I remember Song Hye Go’s character going to bed wearing her thick winter coat. And I was just like “are you actually going to sleep in that?” I mean, at least take off the coat. You can sleep in the rest of your clothes if you want to, as every k-drama character does, but your coat? No. Overall, the show wasn’t bad but i got a bit over it by the end.

    Mischievous Kiss: Love in Tokyo – It was fun watching this because so many other people were as well, and everyone was enjoying it. I remember having lots of chats with bloggers about it, and we were basically just all praising it. Even when we were criticising it, it was followed up with “but it’s still really good”, lol. As you said about its flaws in your review, “I’m choosing not to discuss because why so ever do I need to do this? The good outweighs the bad, period.” I actually watched it for the opposite reason to you though. I watched it BECAUSE i’d watched the other versions. So I was like “well, i’ve gotta watch all of them”. I didn’t like the first episode and almost didn’t continue but I’m so glad I did. And… the actor who played Naoki was raised in America (or Canada?) so he actually speaks perfect English, which is what Naoki is supposed to be able to do. So, i appreciated that.

    1. With Alice, word has it the show redemmed itself at the ending. That true? Somehow I just can’t make myself continue…

      Naoki is so hot in an unconventional way haha. I definitely agree all the discussions etc made the watch more memorable, it was like we were having a big drama watching party online every Friday haha. And yes the English! Okay this is shallow but honestly the reason I was lured in to watch the show is cos I watched that hello Dramafever video they recorded for DF viewers and his English was impeccable that I went “oh damn who is this?” And the rest is history. Conclusion: never underestimate the power of not just good vocabulary (as is oft-said) but also solid grasp of a language! Heeeee.

      1. I think the last episode itself was kinda weird, some things happened that just confused me, lol, but i mean, i don’t think it was terrible. It just didn’t continue the awesomeness of the beginning.

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

