“Hindsight is always 20/20.”

So it’s the last day of winter quarter as well as visit day today.

I’ve a friend who is visiting this year. She’s all excited and I am equally excited for her, but wow, it’s so weird to realize that just a year ago, I was not only in her place, but remember the mixed feelings and nervousness? Remember the (dark) days when funding was bleak, and dreams felt out of reach? Remember the uncertainty, the (foolish) thought that it’s all or nothing?

Now I cringe in embarrassment at the memories (i.e. how I acted…), but it has finally hit: I am glad I decided to attend Stanford. I am so grateful for how things have worked out. This place drives me crazy and at times I still feel like an outsider looking in, but I’ve gotten to know so many awesome folks, and it’s challenged me to question how much ‘dreams’ are really worth, and knowledge I thought I knew well. My fundamental beliefs are constantly put to the test, affecting how I view things and especially myself. I have come out of the storm battered, slightly more broken that the last time, sometimes angry though most times in tears – but I have grown. I have grown so, so much in the past seven months both personally and professionally. The life lessons have been invaluable.

Earlier this week I was told that hindsight is 20/20 – I can’t agree more. “Things work out as they ought to, N,” I’ve been told repeatedly over the past few months by kind souls. It’s hard to believe that for myself when I’m in a dark abyss, filled with worries and anxiety, but I stepped out of it for a second and I think I see it now. I’m immensely grateful.

Alhamdulillah, praises to God for everything. Have a beautiful Friday!

7 thoughts on ““Hindsight is always 20/20.”

  1. I’m so happy for you)) I think life lessons are very precious.We learn from our mistakes and grow up a little.Even if still broken we can overcome.troubles and go on. You know you’re inspiring right now))

      1. Yes I’m trying to be optimistic)) I always hope that after some bad thing good thing will definetely happen.And it really happens)) I had really really bad days for some weeks but now it’s over so I’m very happy))

  2. I’ve never thought of hindsight like that.. but glad you’re at this point right now. I guess the next time you (or me, or anyone) has or have a crisis, really the best advice we can ever get is to keep trudging on.. it’ll look different from later on. :)

    1. It’s a different feeling, more… grown. That’s the only word that comes to mind now haha, because it’s what I feel :) I don’t think I’m totally “there”, wherever that is, but its been a lot, a lot better. Hope you’re doing good yourself :)

  3. Yay! I’m so glad it turned out to be a good choice! :) Here’s to growth! (Or maybe, here’s to looking back over growth that has occurred. The growing part itself… not always fun. ;) )

    1. Thanks Betsy :) After I wrote this, I actually ended up talking to more prospective students and caught up with my friend too, and wow, it’s really something to realize just a year ago, I was in their shoes – the giddiness, the doe-eyed, the anxiousness over funding, that in-between phase of school/work/etc… Ah, the past year’s been such a roller coaster! It’s only now that I’m able to accept that it is all ultimately, for the greater good. The growing part though… *scrunches nose*

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

