“The goal is not just to succeed, but to thrive.”

I am not a fan of Huffington Post – it’s definitely not my go-to news anything – but this is sound advice.

I wish I had known that there would be no trade-off between living a well-rounded life and my ability to do good work. I wish I could go back and tell myself, “Arianna, your performance will actually improve if you can commit to not only working hard, but also unplugging, recharging and renewing yourself.” That would have saved me a lot of unnecessary stress, burnout and exhaustion. The advice I’d give to young people today is this: don’t just climb the ladder of success—a ladder that leads, after all, to higher and higher levels of stress and burnout—but chart a new path to success, remaking it in a way that includes not just the conventional metrics of money and power, but a third metric that includes well-being, wisdom, wonder and giving, so that the goal is not just to succeed but to thrive.

– Arianna Huffington

Someday, surely, all this hard work will amount to something meaningful. One day in the not-so-distant future I hope to look back at this period in my life, and smile at the memory. Not because it is golden, though maybe hindsight will eventually convince me that, but because here’s where I learned to fail, fail, and fail better. Plan A doesn’t work? Redefine your scope. Plan B still doesn’t work? Redefine your scope. Plan C is still not working? Redefine your point-of-view. Redefine success. You heard me right.

Rethink big.

Here’s where I learned that even though I keep being frustratingly below average here – whether it’s my fault or not, what I am certain is that my worth as a person is not based on the grades on my transcript. They neither validate nor define the heights I can reach, professionally and personally. They speak of me, maybe, but they do not speak for me. No one can accuse me of not fucking trying, because I’ve been giving my 200% from day one to the point of multiple breakdowns and withering away, constantly having to fight internal demons of has-beens and what-ifs.

Screw those grades, at this point my effort is fucking A+.

“The goal is not just to succeed, but to thrive.” Words to live by.

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

