“That place doesn’t exist anymore,” he said quietly.

“And you’re alone, but not lonely.”
It was still early, and they were the only customers in the bar. Music from a jazz trio played softly in the background.
“I suppose,” Tsukuru said after some hesitation.
“But you can’t go back now? To that orderly, harmonious, intimate place?”
He thought about this, though there was no need to. “That place doesn’t exist anymore,” he said quietly.

– Haruki Murakami,
Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

 

 

brand new and hard-friggin-copy.

 

 

Brand new and hard-friggin’-copy. Mine. So happy.

This one is good. I feel the ache, like waves that repeatedly crash through and recede, deep down to the core of my heart.

It’s really, really good.

One thought on ““That place doesn’t exist anymore,” he said quietly.

  1. Ok J, now that I can see you’re a Haruki fan, maybe you can shed some light for me. I read only 1 book of his, Wild Sheep Chase. And I’m rather disappointed/bewildered/lost?!. I wonder if it’s me who totally can’t understand the book, or is that book really all about ‘wild sheep chase’??! I couldn’t figure out if there’s actually a story. Perhaps you can share, if you’ve read this book of his. Dare I read another? Which is recommended?

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

