midnight conversations, take III.

“Do you believe there is only one soulmate for a person?”

“…Yes? I am not sure if I follow?” 

“When you said that in the Qur’an it is stated that God has made a person for every person, does it mean there’s only one soulmate for each of us, for life, or is it not so simple as that?” 

I frowned, feeling my annoyance slowly bubbling to the surface. Of course she would never take an information at face value. Ugh, I knew I should have just kept quiet and not entertain her by sharing that. I just dug my own grave.

“I… honestly, I’ve never thought that far about this. When it comes to romantic relationships, oftentimes I wonder if there’ll be someone out there who gets me… so when I came across that sentence in the Qur’an, it reassured me that okay, of course God is looking out for me. I can rest easy about that now. I just thought about it that way and left it at that.”

I let those words sink in for a few long seconds. Then I spoke up again, making sure to do so before she had a chance to weigh them with a possibly lengthy response.

“But if you’re asking me whether I believe that there is only one soulmate for a person, personally I think that if it is a romantic soulmate – yes. But God’s words is my basis for that belief, so I actually never gave thought on whether this means only for a certain period of time, or multiple moments, or… yeah. But if you’re asking me about soulmates in general, then no. Because I have a handful of people that I think of and consider as my soul-sisters and kindred spirits. Those who get me on a level that is deeper than most others, you know? They touch me on a visceral level. Each of them play different roles of course, I understand that. Still, I value them the same in my life. They are to me, what you would call soulmates.”

Likely because of the pitch black darkness surrounding us, I could make out her soft giggle. Glee. Oh, no. Does she now think she knows me too well just like she does my sister, misguided though her interpretations are?

“I was just wondering, that’s all.”

Find someone who makes you realize three things: one, that home is not a place, but a feeling. Two, that time is not measured by a clock, but by moments. And three, that heartbeats are not heard, but felt and shared.
— Anonymous

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

