“But what if we question the premise itself?”

How you should spend 30 minutes on a Sunday: watch this.

Now don’t run away just because the word feminist is there – I wouldn’t call myself that personally, at least based on its typical gender-skewed perspectives that favors one gender for another yet ironically calls for gender equality – but everything she said here is golden. This talk is everything. Every single point resonated. Every. Single. Point.

“Now, here’s a story from my childhood. When I was in primary school, my teacher said at the beginning of term that she would give the class a test, and whoever got the highest code would be the class monitor. … I very much wanted to be the class monitor, and I got the highest score on the test. Then to my surprise my teacher said that the monitor had to be a boy. She had forgotten to make that clear earlier because she assumed it was obvious. A boy had the second highest score on the test and he would be monitor. Now what was even more interesting about this is that the boy was a sweet gentle soul who had no interest in patrolling the class with a cane. While I was full of ambition to do so. But I was female and he was male, and so he became the class monitor. And I’ve never forgotten that incident.”

 

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

