Achievement Unlocked: ♣ College Graduate 2.0 ♣

good endings, not flawed beginnings

This morning at 11 AM, after a very stressful 24 hours and even more stressful last six days, at last I handed in my take-home final exam and with that, I’m officially a…

♣ College Graduate 2.0 ♣

What a milestone! I’m just… I feel so happy!

And grateful like you wouldn’t believe. I’ll be honest: for the last two years, I had several moments where I legit wasn’t sure if I would make it to the finish line. I don’t half ass things in general, important or trivial, but for the first time I found myself questioning several times… can I actually see this through to the end? Those who’ve gone through a masters program may beg to differ ergo it’s not as hard and difficult as I make it seem, but personally for me, the last two years were hard. They weren’t just mentally challenging, but also emotionally difficult. I learned, boy did I learn plenty, but I also paid a lot – monetarily and soul-searchingly – for the experiences.

Alas, while the road to learning has no end, the process itself does terminate in order to give way to the next stage. And so I’m here – I’m on the other side of freedom now!

Who would’ve known this about myself? I didn’t. Armed with a masters degree in a week’s time, homebound in two, and starting anew, whatever and however this will reveal itself to be in due time. This is it, I’m actually about to leave Stanford behind and the US for good. What a journey this has been. I can’t tell you anything about what’s next because I don’t know either but I will tell you that despite the many breakdowns and anxiety attacks I’d suffered over the past three quarters, particularly when thoughts about the uncertain future arise – in hindsight, I’m really glad my siblings insisted I take time off between now and the Big Bad because no kidding, right now all that’s on my mind are all the things I want to do: the books I want to read, the shows I’ve backlogged, the various places at home and around Southeast Asia I’ve been meaning to visit and above all, experiences to live and write about, and people to love.

The future is bright indeed and I am walking towards it with an open heart and mind :)

13 thoughts on “Achievement Unlocked: ♣ College Graduate 2.0 ♣

  1. Congratulations!!!! I’m so happy for you and I wish you adventures and good experiences 😄

    1. Thanks my dear! And your last comment btw- beautiful. Absolutely beautiful. I’m so proud of you!! You’re learning so much from the past year and really growing in the right directions (though this may not seem obvious to you, but it sure is to me :’))

  2. Congrats, my dear.. What a huge milestone, that’s completely worth savoring. May the growing and learning continue as you step into the next chapter in your own time, and may your homecoming be sweet and satisfying to the heart <3

    1. Thank youuuuu unni! Hahaha (you’re the only person I ever use the word “unni” with!) I love love love this comment. I will definitely try to live by and well (to) your well-wishes :’)

  3. Awwww, congrats! <3 <3 <3 What a huge huge achievement and the learning process that comes with it! Glad you are giving yourself some me time! I wish you all the very best on where you choose to go next. <3

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

