(courage: an act done in silence)

On days like yesterday when my stressors cause me to replay ‘what if’ scenarios in my head and therefore, I worry (I am a chronic worrier…) I remind myself of one of Mum’s philosophies (Dad: “She has too many philosophies!”) and it is what I wrote the other day: when it comes to job hunting – and life in general – Mum strongly believes that bravery isn’t in choosing to do what you want to do, but in deciding to opt for the next best thing.

I think I am beginning to fully understand that true courage isn’t loud.

It’s an act done in silence, less about roads not taken and in reality, all about the decisions we make on the road taken. Courage is choosing to put down that ego and admit to ourselves first and foremost, “I’m not sure I can do this – I think I need help”; coming to terms with the painful truth that maybe a particular path/person/interest/etc isn’t for us; accept with grace, not defeat, that nine out of ten times, we have to do what we need to do before we can do what we want; and above all, accept that we can plan our entire lives to death, but the control-and-execute buttons simply aren’t in our hands.

I’m learning that sometimes the braver act is not to keep chasing after a dream –

but to accept it’s time to let go.

(it’s time to let go)

2 thoughts on “(courage: an act done in silence)

  1. Can I print this this out and post it on a placard to remind myself daily?

    I’m actually going to seek some counseling this week, to help deal with my stress and anxiety. Some days I okay, and some days I am the very opposite of fine. I don’t know what the future is going to be like, and I haven’t even gotten to the point of thinking about it. I’m still in the “accepting to let go” stage.
    ::hugs:: for your life there. :)

    1. I would be extremely honored if you actually do it – print this out and post it for daily reminder.

      And I want you to know how proud I am of you for mustering up the courage to seek help and to open yourself up to receive it (huge act of courage, this too). You’re a beautiful work in progress and I pray for your best <3

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

