“We each have a special something we can get only at a special time of our life. Like a small flame.”

“We each have a special something we can get only at a special time of our life. Like a small flame. A careful, fortunate few cherish that flame, nurture it, hold it as a torch to light their way.”
— Haruki Murakami, Sputnik Sweetheart

There’s a bit of sadness in me tonight; I never know where else to put them if not here…

I’m also thinking of sunsets tonight and in particular, the one I caught during my recent trip in Cape Town, South Africa. This photo is unedited; authentic in form so to speak. About two years ago largely thanks to my weeklong spring break trip in Hawaii, I developed a genuine interest and love for sunsets. Whenever I look at the sky – and if it isn’t already obvious to you, it is something I’m obsessed about – I am constantly humbled and in awe, seeing it in its usual sky-blue form one minute and a minute later, an explosion of red/orange/purple that even the best painters could never fully capture in true form. Until now, it never fails to amaze me that even though the sun sets everyday, each sunset is distinct – in time, place, setting, and viewpoint. I’ll be frank: I’ve visited and spent hours in a number of art museums the world over by now and in all honesty, for me, God is still the finest of all artists – I’m a devoted lifelong fan.

2015-11-10 19.33.49
Sunset viewed from Signal Hill in Cape Town, South Africa (Autumn in the northern hemisphere, spring in the south; 2015).
Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

