“…and I carry the memory with me today the way some people carry amulets or worry stones: a reminder that there is always an Iceland to return to…”

“My life at that time was full of passing relationships: people I knew for days, or even hours, and who posed for Polaroid-like snapshots in my memory which outlast many of the long-exposure images I’ve collected since.”

my desk at 417!
My table at my old and last apartment in Philly (Spring 2013)

“My sense of the scale of the world, and its speed, changed that night, and I carry the memory with me today the way some people carry amulets or worry stones: a reminder that there is always an Iceland to return to, a place where, in an unexplored city in the wee hours just south of the Arctic Circle, strangers are dancing and the seemingly impossible isn’t. I was twenty-two, but I think of this as when my twenties actually began.”

IMG_4152
Golden Gate Bridge at sunset on a particularly cold evening (Spring 2015)

“You’re far from home. It’s quiet. All at once, you have a thrilling sense of nowness, of the sheer potential of a verdant night with all these unmet people in it. For a long time after that, you think you’ll never lose this life, those dreams. But that was, as they say, then.”

2015-11-10 19.33.49
Sunset at Cape Town, South Africa, viewed from Signal Hill (Winter 2015)

For all the twenty-somethings reading this, do me a small favor; you need to. Read this absolutely beautiful and in its own way, heartbreaking, gem of a writeup by Nathan Heller on our semi-charmed lives – go here.

 

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

