“I felt as though I had “come home.””

Just a little over a year ago, in late January 2015, I’d bookmarked this little passage from a book I chanced upon that brought along waves of nostalgia with each sentence read. A year later: “I wanted to find out and made the decision to return.”

Strange, how life comes full circle.

“We were both silent. Robyn read a book, and I thought about our visit to Sarawak. During our stay I had a familiar sensation in my stomach, the one we all get when we return to a familiar and loved place. I felt as though I had “come home.” If a two-week visit was so full of wonderfully strange events, what would it be like to live in Sarawak? I wanted to find out and made the decision to return. I didn’t know when, but I knew I would come back to search for that highland valley.”
— Eric Hansen, Stranger in the Forest: On Foot Across Borneo

Note: sunny with a chance of longing is here, now, but do click to read the forecast.

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

