“you’re (no longer there but) here.”

I just came across this, an old write-up that funnily, I don’t remember writing (at all) but one that I apparently, obviously did. I mean, it’s here – in this space. To be specific, I wrote this on December 23, 2013 under “you’re there.” :

I tried to rifle through my mental compartments yesterday, fiddling through arrays of our conversations from yesteryears. I tried to return to seven years ago when I was only fifteen, and you were twenty-two. I tried to return to when you were at this age that I am now and tried hard to recall what it was like for you then, what you thought of when you think of home.

At soon-twenty-five now, I would like to answer my twenty-two year old self – she who had written the above with her Eldest Sis in mind – and tell her that she can rest easy now; her heart can learn the beginnings of settling. I want to tell her that home is here and it is hot, throbbing, and alive. Hell, it’s actually more palpable and vivid than never before.

I had a moment of realization yesterday, in the middle of chaos from too much sun, sand, sky and best of all – laughter. It hit me silent like a bullet but also sharp like a knife; lucid. I stood stupefied for a moment, basked in the light of clarity; maybe, an internal turning point. I’m home, home, home – to the magnanimous physicality of it… as well as to myself.

Welcome home, N. This has been the right decision all along and all the while, isn’t it?

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

