“I think a lot about what it means to live a life surrounded, perhaps even defined, by boundaries.”

I think a lot about what it means to be Muslim lately.

I think about it as I quietly excuse myself from a meeting that runs throughout the dusk prayer time, meaning there’s no way but to awkwardly whisper, so as to not break the mood, “I’m just going to pray for awhile…” I think about it as I look around and belatedly notice, yet again as it often seems to be the case here (too), that I’m the only Muslim in the crowd or group – both professionally, at work, and personally, among friends. I think about it, what this means, as I find myself asked, not for the first time, “How halal(-adhering) are you?” I think about it as I, for instance today, excitedly told a female colleague-friend, within earshot of random others, “I love your new hairdo! I have short hair too-“ placing my right hand on my head – only to realize that my second statement is now irrelevant. I think about it whenever I find myself among friends who have to accommodate my dietary restrictions, changing lunch or dinner plans because the restaurants that come to their mind are those that serve dishes I can’t consume. I think about it whenever I find myself in a place that makes my headscarf-covered head stand out awkwardly, causing me to stop short, suddenly remembering and thus sometimes, policing myself. I think about it whenever I attempt to consider the hypothetical possibilities of romantic entanglements, only to weigh outcomes.

I think a lot about what it means to live a life surrounded, perhaps even defined, by boundaries.

“I think the headscarf, for me,” I confessed to Eldest Sis not too long ago, “is a reminder of the boundaries present in my life. Sometimes I forget …but others would remember, because there’s something on my head that represents something… Whenever that realization hits, I think to myself, “Ah, this is as far as I can go-“ …but is it a question mark, or a period?”

I think a lot about what it means, these boundaries. Are they meant to restrict – or do they exist to challenge?

Are they ever-present to remind me that I can be one thing, yet still be many things – or is their purpose to remind me that I can go as far as I would like to… but within limits? Are they meant to deprive – or do they exist to appease?

I think a lot about what it means to be Muslim lately.

(I have no answers)

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

