“My poetry is what the world looks like from inside my head.”

“Here is a collection of my faults: I am messy, sloppy, uncoordinated, unbalanced, clumsy, trips over her own feet, trips over her own words, loves too easily, loves too much, loves the wrong people, lets go too fast, too capable of leaving without looking back, runs away from feelings, runs away from responsibility.

So if you love me, love me in the spaces in between perfection. Photographs are manipulated images of reality. I probably don’t look as good as you’re expecting me to be. A human is just a human, and I don’t want to be turned into an idea anymore.

My poetry is what the world looks like from inside my head. Here are the trees turned into metaphors. The sunlight looks like love and tonight, the sky is telling you:
you are light, you are light, you are light.

But out here, outside of this mind, I get tired and I feel small sometimes. I am tired of apologizing for being a mess. Sometimes I don’t feel as brave, and I need you to tell me that that’s still okay.”

— Van Nguyen at 550 PM on being romanticized/idealized

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

