what it is like to (finally) like someone (or: a jumble of semi-coherent thoughts from fragmented conversations);

 

i.

N: (enters the car) (immediately starts speaking and asking questions)

A: (turns to exchange looks) (smiles)

“Can we go fill up petrol first?”

“…huh? Yes. Of course. We can.”

ii.

“Jane, you’ve got to lower your standards. You can’t put everyone on a Stanford standard-“

“But I don’t! Really, I don’t.” 

“-because no one can live up to that.”

iii.

“I like to write.”

“So… fiction?”

“No. Creative nonfiction.”

“What! How is there even such a thing?! It’s either fiction – or nonfiction! There’s no in-between!”

“There is! It’s like 80% true – based on real facts – and 20% recreated, possibly fictionalized aspects.”

“So… like Abraham Lincoln the vampire slayer?”

“… … okay. Yeah, I guess that’s correct.”

“That still makes it overall fiction!”

“No! It’s creative nonfiction. … Okay, maybe. Kind of.”

iv. 

“How many sibling do you have?”

“How many do you have?”

“Seven. Guess which number I am?”

“…youngest?”

“Oh! That’s correct. How did you guess?”

“You’re a little… spoilt.”

v.

(an hour after we arrived back in Miri)

“We’ve arrived. Took us one hour.”

In a lower tone, “One hour… you can really talk…”

“I’m sorry… I’m chatty…”

“No, it’s okay…”

“I’m sorry… are you- are you the quiet type?”

A: (laughs) (shakes head)

“Cos I’m… not. I’m chatty… I always have things I think and want to talk about…”

vi.

“I’m glad I didn’t drive today… wow, it really rained all day…”

My older housemate, to him, “Thanks for joining us, and driving.”

N: (turns to look at him) 

“See? There’s a reason we spoke on Wednesday night!”

“Yeah, like you finally received enlightenment, isn’t it? ‘A isn’t such a tool and super blur after all…'”

“Oh, Jane. I think he really is offended that you called him ‘blur’ the other day…”

“But I didn’t mean ‘blur’ in a bad way…”

vii.

“Do you know anyone here?”

A: (shakes head) 

“Yeah, same here. I literally only know one person-“

He looked over with a smile, “And that’s why we’re here together.”

viii.

“If the next time I meet you, it rains again…”

“Girl. It’s the rainy season.” 

ix.

N: (enters car) (continues to talk)

“Oh look, a snake!”

“Huh? Where?”

N: (checks the surrounding of the car frantically)

“Oh… it was just a leaf…”

“Pfft.”

“See? I’m an optimist.”

“How does that make you an optimist? If you’re an optimist – you’d see something harmless, not a snake.”

“Cos I thought I saw a snake – but then I said, “Oh, it’s not! It’s just a leaf.”

“…if you put it that way…”

.

I feel like… why do I feel like… I’ve finally met… an equal match?

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

