“…that sense of knowing that you were there and alive in that corner of time and world.”

“My captain once said that you meet people in your life who you believe will be your companions on the road, only to discover that they fall by the wayside. Others who you meet without design climb mountains with you.”
— Sally Gardner, Tinder

I don’t know where to begin in expressing how grateful I am for the friends I’ve come to love this year alone because my goodness, these individuals epitomize the definition of true friends who are ‘there’.

What is the value of a moment?

I wrote below tonight, for one of these beautiful souls, in response to her words, “I know this is cheesy… but I honestly hope that our friendship will last for a lifetime.” I wish for her to understand that even a moment’s worth could mean a lifetime:

The season of change continues to hover in the background like a grim reminder that even the best things (and people!) are temporary – but I believe wholeheartedly in the value of a moment. Likewise with love; however briefly it glimmered in a moment’s worth, love is still love. Tonight I made a wonderful discovery: exactly how precious something I already own is, through the eyes of another. And how much more wonderful it is to be open towards expanding, even by one person, that inner circle. I think people tend to take for granted that friendship is a type of relationship, too – one that requires, just like any other, trust and authenticity and effort to keep. If this is our moment’s worth – because what is friendship in adulthood if not defined by past life baggage and present life priorities …according to every cynic ever – then tonight I’ll count my blessings twice for crossing paths with these lovely souls in this specific corner of time and world ♡

“Maybe it meant something. Maybe not, in the long run… but no explanation, no mix of words or music or memories can touch that sense of knowing that you were there and alive in that corner of time and world.”
— Hunter Thompson, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

One thought on ““…that sense of knowing that you were there and alive in that corner of time and world.”

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

