“We can be disgustingly brave with our emotions.”

We spoke of vulnerabilities tonight.

Why do I wear my heart on my sleeves, authentic and honest to a fault, and unashamed to openly admit my innermost thoughts and flaws? “Correct me if I’m wrong-“ my friend says. She asked about expressing innermost thoughts.

“I have a deep fear of being too much. That one day
I will find my someone, and they will realize
that I am
a hurricane. That they will step back and be
intimidated
by my muchness.”
— Michelle K.

The poem above is my why – it’s because my deepest fear is at times genuinely paralyzing. I have, however, learned that to overcome our greatest fears, we’ve to learn to face it right in the eye. Acknowledgement followed by quiet acceptance.

I am the way I am now because I no longer want to be afraid and apologetic for being a hurricane. There is no need to keep being apologetic for my weak spots, real and imaginary. There is no need to keep saying sorry for taking up space.

I love this sentence – it feels like I’ve truly ‘arrived’:

“You like him, that’s clear. But you like yourself – that’s clear too.”

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

