“But I’m reminded of that chapter in my life when I finally came out of my Muslim-closet-“

These days, reading news about the US – it feels like the America I bid goodbye to nearly two years ago is a lot different than the America today. It is strange; disheartening and bizarre. It pains me.

But I’m reminded of that chapter in my life when I finally came out of my Muslim-closet (after four years of genuinely believing I needed to hide this fact) and was greeted and treated with only kindness and understanding. I remember at one point thinking, feeling utterly silly, “Why did I hide this for so long?!”

My prayer and wishes for all to continue to extend kindness in this trying period as we at last confront prejudice, hatred and bigotry in their physical form. One person does not define an entire nation. Lest you forget, rest assured that however small your act of kindness – it is not lost. It is not lost.

I like to think I’m evident of having been at the receiving end, of which I’m grateful for until today.

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

