“I am myself with myself-“

Written by yours truly, earlier this month (I promise I’d been meaning to share):

I confess that sometimes I have a feeling I will find myself at thirty still alone. By that I also mean, very much an independent party-of-one. I remember until now the puzzled expression of a friend in grad school who, when I told him I hope to get out of our country again at age 30 in pursuit of a second master, he had gently raised a question (“-but wouldn’t you have kids, husband?”) which only left me feeling puzzled and out-of-sorts because that particular question, up until the age of twenty-four that I was then, had never crossed my mind.

At twenty-six, I confess that I do not know what ‘in love’ feels like (mostly I still wonder whether I need to) and given the amount of times I have consoled friends in relationships aka play the role of that-friend-who-gives-relationship-advice-but-is-in-truth-perpetually-single, and two, been asked and have served as a bridesmaid / ‘dulang girl’ – at times I do wonder if I’ll be that classic tale of forever-the-bridesmaid-never-the-bride (and what a tale that would be!). But I do not and would not want to dilute myself to the story of “I was given great friendships / a huge family thus short-handed on romance” …God is most fair, my dear.

I’m writing simply to tell of another tale, the one in which whenever I sit with myself, in solitude, I am not unsettled. There is palpitation, but it isn’t fear. I am myself with myself and I think that’s an extremely key self-discovery. It’s the understanding and acceptance that there are many twenty-sixers within and outside of my radius who are living wholly different lives than my own – some headed towards blinding neon lights while others are cozily tucked behind picket fences – and here’s mine. They can and probably do live great lives and maybe I can and do secretly envy or desire for theirs (because the grass is always greener outside of our lawn, isn’t it) but I can also not want those lives and upright say no and mean it. I’m sure there are those with spouses, partners, kids and what-have-yous who’d similarly understand and echo this (including not wanting the life I have now!), but for myself – I could not have arrived at this perspective any other way.

And I hate to disappoint but this really isn’t a retrospect story of bridesmaid-zilla, spinster-doom, trade-offs or even ‘finalists’ (an old friend explained it as those who when they settle, others would react with “Finally!”) – it’s just mine, which is a endless balancing act between choices and circumstances.

I should probably not quote John Mayer (ha!) especially when the topic is on love, but I have always believed that he did know what he was on about when he crooned this line years ago, “The(my) heart of life is good.” Indeed.

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

