‘in adulthood’

I’ve been meaning to write this for awhile.

If someone were to ask me at what point, which life lesson, in 2017 was my adulthood turning point, my answer would be the moment when it occurred to me that life in adulthood is simply a series of choices. In other words: we make do with the cards we’re dealt with and knowledge acquired up to the present to make calculated, careful life decisions. They could turn out to be the wrong choice – also known as a mistake – but life waits for no person; take the plunge now, worry later.

“I’ll cross that bridge when I get there.” 

When I look back at my early twenties self, she who had spent her nineteenth to twenty-fourth birthday abroad in good ol’ America – I always wish I had learned to relax. Take it easier. Be less uptight yes, but more importantly – be less afraid. Of everything. Whether great big unknowns or smaller lesser knowns. It’s okay to not yet have all the answers. It’s okay to make decisions based on only a day’s worth of foresight. It’s okay too, to belatedly discover they were incorrect choices.

The path of life, after all, is paved with endless lessons and turning points.

 

Don't Hold Back! Share Your Thoughts.

